Moose Factory, the second post ever established by The Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC), became the centre of supplies distribution for the Southern Department. Today, many of the original HBC buildings, including the Staff House, are part of a National Historic Site.
The post journal for July 21, 1823 records the beginning of construction of the Men’s House — quarters for unmarried staff and visitors. This building was later renamed the Clerk’s House, and provided accommodation for Company clerks in addition to a clerks’ office and a surgery. By the 1900s, this building was known as the Staff House.